Awards Committee

The Awards Committee coordinates the nomination and selection of award recipients for FWEA and WEF awards. Members oversee the total award program for FWEA and remain current on the WEF awards program. They make appropriate recommendations to the FWEA Board regarding the revision or elimination of existing awards and the introduction of any new awards which might benefit FWEA members.

The FWEA presents a variety of awards that recognize achievement in the water environment profession. Awards are presented for service in education, innovative facility design, published papers, research, excellence in water quality improvement, outstanding personal service, distinctive advertising, service in the operations field, plant safety, and more.

If you are interested in serving on the FWEA Awards Committee or serving on the Awards Committee of an FWEA Local Chapter Award, please contact the Committee Chair. If you would like to nominate someone for an award, click here.



Nicole McConnell, P.E.
(407) 409-7005
William D. Hatfield Award, Samual R. Willis Award, WEF Awards

Vice Chair
Damaris Noriega
(407) 254-9538

Scott Helfrick
ADS Environmental Services
Golden Manhole, Collection System of the Year Award

Larry Johnson
City of Callaway
(850) 871-1033
Collection System Awards

Shanin Speas-Frost
Water Resources, Reuse and Resiliency Committee Awards Chair
David W. York Reuse Awards, Integrated Water Resources Award

Susanna Littell
Orange County Utilities
(407) 254-7110
Albert B. Herndon Award, L.L. Hedgepeth Award

Tina Nixon
Greeley and Hansen
Earle B. Phelps Award

Membership Achievement & Service Awards Committee

Julie Karleskint, P.E.
Hazen and Sawyer
(941) 378-2862
Public Education Award

Scott Holowasko
Safety Committee Awards

Tyler Smith
Carollo Engineers
(813) 906-4606
Student Design Competition, Norm Casey Scholarship Awards, YP of the Year Award

Rick Nipper
Toho Water Authority
Utilities Management Committee Awards