The Florida Water Environment Association gives the Earle B. Phelps Award annually to recognize wastewater treatment facilities, which have maintained the highest removal of major pollution-causing constituents prior to discharging, treated effluent to receiving waters. For the past several years Awards have been given in three treatment categories:

- Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plants
- Advanced Secondary Wastewater Treatment Plants
- Secondary Wastewater Treatment Plants

The 2014 Awards will consider plant size in the evaluation. Nominees will be evaluated against treatment facilities of the same relative size and treatment type. If nominations merit, Awards will be given for small, medium and large size plants within each treatment category.

Each nominee must submit information to permit an evaluation of all award criteria. Copies of the previous 12 month's DER monthly reports are suggested for characterization of effluent quality. In addition, a yearly summary sheet should be provided to indicate flow-weighted monthly and annual average influent and effluent concentrations with the associated percent removal of each parameter identified in the award criteria. Samples of daily and monthly operations reports should be included as part of the submittal package. Additional quality parameters used by plant personnel for evaluation of treatment performance may also be reported. An application form is available to assist you in organizing your submittal.

In order to assist the Committee in assessment of treatment objectives for each nominee, it is requested that a copy of the discharge permit be submitted with the nomination materials. A schematic diagram of the treatment facility, which illustrates the principal unit operations/ processes, is similarly requested.

Any Florida wastewater plant may be endorsed and submitted by a member of the FPCA to the Phelps Award Committee for consideration. The Committee is hopeful that many nominations will be received in all three categories. The deadline for receipt of nominations is February 14, 2014.

Direct any questions concerning the awards or requests for application forms to:

Tina Nixon, P.E., BCEE Parsons 4925 Independence Parkway Suite 120 Tampa, Florida 33634 (813) 261-8330